A E R O  Q U A R T E T

Formed during the Spring of 2020, the Aero Quartet is a saxophone quartet based in Ann Arbor at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre and Dance. It's members include Salvador Flores (Soprano Chair), Walt Puyear (Alto Chair), Matthew Koester (Tenor Chair), and Brian Kachur (Baritone Chair). They are currently under the direction of GRAMMY Award winning Saxophonist, Dr. Timothy McAllister. 


The Aero Quartet has been named the 1st Prize Winner of the 2021 Music Teachers National Association Chamber Music Competition, as well having been named the 1st Prize Winner of the 2021 NOLA Chamber Festival Graduate Competition. They have also been named a recipient of the 2021 University of Michigan Binkow Chamber Music Grant. The ensemble is taking on many projects, one being creating recordings of works for Saxophone Quartet and Organ. Such works to be included in the project include William Albright's "Valley of Fire", Victoria Borisova-Ollas' "In a World Unspoken", and a newly-commissioned work by esteemed composer Jennifer Higdon entitled "Heavy Dynamics". The group has performed at University of Michigan Chamber Music Forums, the MTNA Chamber Music Competition Winners Concert, and in a masterclass with the renowned Aizuri Quartet hosted by the 2021 NOLA Chamber Fest.


Addis Ababa - Guillermo Lago

Aero Quartet

Saxophonquartett - Georg Friedrich Haas

Aero Quartet

SQUEEZE - Augusta Read Thomas

Aero Quartet